American Society for Engineering Education MEMORANDUM

Date: May 20, 2005

To: ASEE IL/IN Section Meeting

From: Mark C. Johnson

Secretary, ASEE IL/IN Section

Phone: 765 494-0636

email: mcjohnso@purdue.edu

Re: April 2, 2005 IL/IN Section Meeting Minutes

On April 2, 2005, IL/IN section members and officers met during lunch or the IL/IN section conference at Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL. A list of outstanding teacher, best paper, and best poster award winners are also included.

Welcome by: Michael Kozak

Introduction of Sandra Yost, Zone II Chair,

Introduction of Gary Stephen of IPFW regarding joint conference with North Central section in 2006

Thanks to moderators, encourage sessions to stay on schedule

Thanks to speakers Dr. Gurvinder Virk from University of Leeds, U.K., Mr. Thomas McDunn of EIGERlab, Rockford, IL.

Invitation for more section school participation & how can we help them?

Overview of remaining conference schedule

Need for input from section schools - executive board meetings will be teleconferenced to enable more campus representatives to participate

Updated By-Laws: prepared by Doug Tougaw and Heidi-Diefes Dux

Carmine Polito moved to vote for acceptance, 2nded Accept/Vote - accepted unanimously

change to two year terms noted

explanation of how chair-elect/chair/past chair works. The "chair-elect" serves for two years and then automatically becomes chair for the next two years. For an additional two years, the "past chair" continues to serve on the executive board.

Election of Officers

Mark Johnson - secretary candidate

Carmine Polito - treasurer

Past chair - Heidi, Prev Past chair Doug Tougaw (acknowledged)

Radha Bala - chair elect

Accept/Vote on slate - Winfred Anakwa moved, 2nded, accepted unanimously

Solitation for future nominations - no additional nominations for current election

2006 Section Conf in Fort Wayne

Joint with North-Central

Thanks - to current co-chairs, Radha & Bala, Dennis Kroll - awards chair

Attendees

Meeting Organizers

Board

Doug Tougaw - introduced Carmine Polito as keynote speaker,

Keynote topic: Engineers Without Borders.

Awards ceremony 4:30-5:00pm, April 2, 2005

Best Paper

Briano Collar of Northern Illinois University for the paper "Teaching Numerical Methods to Mechanical Engineers with a Video Game"

Outstanding Teacher - announced by Carmine Polito

Dr. Doug Tougaw of Valpariaso University

Best Student Posters

Brian Richards from the University of Notre Dame, best single person entry "Sensing Without Sensors: Information Harvesting From Signal Strength Measurements"

Jeffrey Hall, Lindsey Hall, Nakul Jeirath, Andrew Penner, and Omar Shaikh of Purdue University, West Lafayette for the best team poster, "ASIC Design Project: Programmable Finite Impulse Response (FIR) Filter"